Dark Colored Fabrics

I’m new to sewing. I think that’s a bit of an understatement, but I am finally starting to feel like I’ve got my bearings a bit. So, when I decided to make a black pencil skirt from a newly tweaked pattern, I was feeling fairly confident — until I had to trace my pieces. You see, I don’t own a chalk pencil or whatever they’re called. I have one of those little tailor’s chalks. The flat square with slightly rounded corners. It was nearly impossible to make a clean line with that thing. So today, when I was faced with another piece of black fabric, I took a deep breath and once again made a mess of things. “There has to be a better way,” I thought. And then I thought back to grade school art class. Behold my solution:

Scribble, scribble

It’s a little messy, but let me tell you, those were the cleanest lines I have ever achieved with chalk!

How do you mark dark fabrics?

One thought on “Dark Colored Fabrics

  1. ha. I’m no better. I just use regular ol’ chalkboard chalk. They do make white grease pencils specifically for fabric marking and I have one… but I like my chalk better. 🙂

Leave a Reply

