My First Dining Room Table

Towards the end of Fall Term last year, I was having a difficult time.  My job was making me unhappy and I was dating someone inherently wrong for me.  No matter how hard I tried, nothing made things better, until I convinced a little old man to let me make a teeny tiny dining room table at the school wood shop.  I would sneak away for an hour or two and lose myself in the sawdust and sandpaper.  Today, I am happy as a single girl, contracted to join an amazing school in the city, and just a week’s worth of work away from having my first piece of handcrafted furniture.  Amazing what creating things with your hands can do for your psyche!

I apologize in advance for the picture heavy post.  Just wait until I finish it!

6 thoughts on “My First Dining Room Table

  1. I’ve always been interested in woodworking and thought about how the similar the skills are to sewing… it’s all construction, just a different medium.

Leave a Reply

